A City of Murals

by Julie

I am fascinated by street art. The first time I remember really getting into it was on our trip to Ireland (in 2007 I think?). The political murals there are amazing – especially in Belfast – and I tried my best to get pictures of as many of them as I could. I should go dig them up where ever they are… Anyway, I’m happy to say that Richmond has a number of amazing murals as well! I believe this is in part due to recent street art festivals like the G40 art summit from this past April, which brought 23 new murals to the city, and local artists like Ed Trask, who has been promoting this kind of art all around the city. I have decided to start my own collection by taking pictures of art as I see it around the city (so I’ll have to get better about carrying around the camera). Here’s what I’ve got so far:

By LELO @ 1711 E Main Street

By ANGRY WOEBOTS@ Tiki Bobs Cantina, 11 S 18th Street

By Pixel Pancho @ Tiki Bobs Cantina, 119 N. 18th Street

By Pixel Pancho @ 1809 E. Main Street

By 2501 @ Have A Nice Day Cafe, 11 S 18th Street

By ROA @ Have A Nice Day Cafe, 11 S 18th Street

By Ed Trask @ Ellwood Thompson’s

By Ed Trask @ Globehopper, 2100 East Main Street

This entry was published on September 19, 2012 at 9:56 pm and is filed under Photography. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

